Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, 2001

Summary: Harry Potter, a fantasy novel written by J.K Rowling is made into a film by Chris Columbus. Harry Potter is a boy whose parents are killed by Voldmort, the worst villain in this flm, and raised by his materialistic cousins. On his 11th birthday, he is told that he is a wizard and will attend to a school called Hogwart; Hogwart is a school of wizardry and witchcraft. He meets friends called Ron and Hermionie and become the best friends. Harry Potter series is mainly about the adventures that Harry and his friends go through while they are staying in Hogwarts. There, they find out about the existence of sorcerer’s stone, and they also find out that it is in danger. So this film is mainly about the process that Harry and his friends find out about the stone and how they manage to protect it from Voldmort.

My opinion: For me, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone is a historical piece because it is the first piece of the series that played an extremely important role in my life.(complex)  Harry Potter used to be almost everything in my life when I was in elementary school and at the beginning of middle school. I had to stop my love for it because of my obligation to study; however, even after I had to study very hard, reading Harry Potter was one of my best hobbies to get rid of stress from studying. Even few weeks ago, I joked with my sister that I wish I was Harry Potter’s friend so that I don’t have to study, but all I need to do is memorize the spells.(compound)

Apart from my personal love for Harry Potter series, Harry Potter is actually a very didatic film. Harry, the main character, is a boy who understands the sadness of the weak and knows how to fight for the justice. Despite his young age, he is willing to fight against Voldmort who killed his parents. For me, it was especially impressive when Harry did not brag himself in front of the others even though he found out that he is a celebrity between the wizards and witches.(complex)  His bravenss and modesty are the virtues that should be followed by people. Furthermore, Harry Potter’s friends, Ron and Hermione, were very impressive for me because they are the model of people who truly cherish their friends. (compound) It was very touching when they even risked their lives to find Sorcerer’s stone with Harry.

Also, the scenes that Voldmort appears from the new professor’s head and trolls destroying the toilet are very imaginative. Villains and trolls are common themes between fantasy novel writers, but Rowling did an excellent job to adapt them into attractive forms. They did not seem stale at all. Harry Potter is an amazing piece for children because of its fantastic imagination and diverse characters, but it is also very attractive for adults because of its lessons and fresh concept of thinking.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, 2001”에 대한 2개의 생각

답글 남기기

